OUR PEOPLE

MEET THE TEAM

 

Executive Director

Heather Hooper

hhooper@DementiaNC.org

A North Carolina native, Heather Hooper has more than a dozen years of experience
in the fields of nonprofit management and philanthropy.

Heather leads Dementia Alliance of North Carolina as the new Executive Director. Prior to her role with DA-NC, she was the Director of Development for the College of Veterinary Medicine at North Carolina State University where she worked with donors and clients to provide over $1.4M in resources for the college.  Previously she was the Executive Director of the Lung Cancer Initiative of North Carolina. Under her tenure, the organization went from a startup to a sustainable organization which tripled in revenue and funded over $1.1M in lung cancer research. She also was instrumental in rebranding and developing new programs to serve the state’s lung cancer community.

Heather developed a passion for working in the nonprofit sector after losing her father to cancer in 2005. This experience gave her a strong appreciation for nonprofit organizations who improve the quality of life for people in our community.

Heather has a BA in Communication and a minor in Nonprofit Studies from North Carolina
State University.  She also has a certificate in nonprofit management from Duke University.

In her spare time, she enjoys going to Burn Bootcamp, running, listening to podcasts and
spending time with her husband, kids and dog.

Family Services Director

Dee Dee Harris

dharris@DementiaNC.org

Since graduating from Concord University in 1987 with a Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) degree, Dee Dee has spent the last 28 years working with people with dementia, their families and professional caregivers. 19 of those years have been spent with DA-NC.

Program Director

Lisa Levine

llevine@DementiaNC.org

Prior to joining the staff of DA-NC, Lisa served as a corporate memory care specialist assisting independent, assisted and skilled care communities in seven states across the Southeast. After graduating with a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from University of Florida, Lisa began working in skilled nursing facilities. It was there she learned her passion for assisting people with dementia and their families. 30 years have passed and she continues to work toward improving the quality of life for people living with Alzheimer’s disease and other memory impairments.

Administrative Assistant

Joan Horstmann

jhorstmann@DementiaNC.org

After living near Chicago, IL her whole life, Joan relocated to Raleigh and loves her new city. She’s a health-nut who’s active daily and eats well. She’s an avid reader and enjoys family and meaningful work..

Director of Community Outreach

Kacy Hall

khall@DementiaNC.org

After assisting her family with the care of her grandmother who was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease, Kacy became committed to educating, supporting and advocating for other families impacted by the disease and other related dementias.  In a major career shift from property management, Kacy managed a memory care community in a long-term care facility before deciding to return to college to pursue a field of study that would enable her to follow her passion for improving the lives of individuals living with dementia.  She now has a BS in Gerontology and a minor in Social Work from Barton College and has been working in the aging field for 8 years.

Kacy is a native of Atlanta, Georgia but has resided in Raleigh for 8 years. In her free time she enjoys spending time with her daughter and other family, watching volleyball games, relaxing on the beach, listening to live music and exploring the beautiful
state of North Carolina.

Director of Finance

Lynne Hicks

lhicks@DementiaNC.org

MEET THE BOARD

Lanier M. Cansler, Chairman

President
Cansler Collaborative Resources

lcansler@canslermail.com

 

Gary Fuquay, Treasurer

President
Fuquay Solutions

gfuquay@fuquaysolutions.com

 

Eric Larsen, Vice-Chair

President
Larsen Group

eric@larsen-group.com

 

Amy Cipau, Secretary

President & Founder
Lung Cancer Initiative of N.C.

acipau@gmail.com

 

Jonathan R. Bumgarner

Senior Contracts Analyst
Eaton Law Department

JonathanRBumgarner@eaton.com

 

Tim Murray

Founder and President
Aware Senior Care, LLC

tmurraync@gmail.com

Randy Fraser

Retired
Time Warner Cable

rfraser@nc.rr.com

 

Sandra Massey

Registered Nurse Executive
Evolent Health/Wake Med Key Comm. Care- WKCC

sandi@sgmstate.com

 

Dan Kaufer, MD

Physician
UNC Neurology

kauferd@neurology.unc.edu

 

Gregory Wallace, JD

Elder Law Attorney
Monroe Wallace Law Group

jgwallace@ncelderlaw.com

 

Kathleen Welsh-Bohmer, PhD

Director
Joseph and Kathleen Bryan ADC, Duke University

Kathleen.welshbohmer@dm.duke.edu

HOW CAN WE HELP YOU?

FIND SUPPORT

LEARN MORE

GET INVOLVED