SUPPORT GROUPS

A caregiver support group can act as a positive outlet providing caregivers a regular time for social interaction outside of the home. The groups offer a safe place where any negative emotions about caregiving can be expressed and validated (like anger, frustration and grief), helping participants feel like they are NOT alone. Support groups also help caregivers maintain balance by doing something for themselves instead of always caring for their loved one.

Caregivers can gather ideas on how others deal with common challenges of caring for a loved one during each of the stages of dementia, and have the opportunity to help others who are new to caregiving by offering tips on what has and hasn’t worked well for them. In addition, many groups offer an educational component with expert advice on caregiving topics.

  • Do you need caregiving resources for your area?
  • Are you feeling stressed and overwhelmed?
  • Are you depressed? Tired? Rundown?
  • Would you like to have additional caregiving coping strategies?
  • Would you like to have the support of other caregivers who “understand” caregiving?
  • Do you want a support system?
  • Have you ever wanted someone to be there for you?
  • Would you like to acquire more education from other caregivers?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, we’d like to encourage you to attend one of the support groups in your community.

  • Consider how often the group meets. Bi-monthly or monthly?
  • What time of day is convenient for you? Daytime or evening?
  • Is the location of the group easily accessible for you?
  • What kind of group is it? Caregivers, individuals with dementia, male only, etc.?
  • Is the group for support or education, or a combination of both?
  • What is the size of the group?

FIND A SUPPORT GROUP:

We are committed to offering local support groups throughout the state of North Carolina so that location is never a factor that hinders a caregiver from attending a group session. If you’re searching for a local support group, simply click on your county below to access our list of group locations. Contact information and schedules for groups in your area will pop up. And please contact us directly at (919) 832-3732 for more information or to speak to one of our staff members about additional resources for caregivers in North Carolina.

Alamance County

Burlington
(FTD Caregivers)

3rd Tuesday

6:00PM

Kathy LaFone
919-632-808
timlafone@yahoo.com

Beaufort County

Washington

4th Monday

5:30PM

Tamyra Jovel
252-974-1837
tjovel@mideastcom.org

Brunswick County

Bolivia

2nd Thursday

2:00PM

Heather Garrison
910-755-5955
brunswick_sw@choice-health.net

Leland

2nd Thursday

10:00AM

Holly Pilson
910-395-4553
hpilson@capefearcog.org

Southport

3rd Wednesday

1:00PM

Vicki Carlson
910-368-7060
bfairy65@gmail.com

Southport

2nd Thursday

1:00PM

Richard Sanfilppo
910-454-4001
richard.sanfilippo@carillonassistedliving.com

Buncombe County

Asheville

3rd Tuesday

1:00PM

Mary Donnelly
828-230-4143
network@memorycare.org

Candler

2nd Thursday

1:00PM

Mary Donnelly
828-230-4143
network@memorycare.org

Black Mountain

2nd Tuesday

9:30AM

Mary Donnelly
828-230-4143
network@memorycare.org

Black Mountain

2nd Tuesday

9:30AM

Mel Kelley
828-301-0529
avant_garden@msn.com

Cabarrus County

Concord

1st Wednesday

12:15PM

Catherine Brown
704-795-1200
cbrown1@5ssl.com

Carteret County

Morehead City

2nd Thursday

1:30PM

Pat Wesson
252-241-2201
pwesson@friendlycaregivers.com

Cape Carteret

1st & 3rd Tuesday

1:30PM

Joyce Manley
252-393-3243
jandwnc2@gmail.com

Chatham County

Pittsboro

3rd Monday

6:00PM

Susan Hardy
919-542-4512
susan.hardy@chathamcoa.org

Craven County

New Bern

1st Wednesday

1:00PM

Nancy Wille
252-636-0831
mommywillett@gmail.com

New Bern

3rd Thursday

2:00PM

Alison Schneider
252-633-1779
aschneider@courtyardsbernevillage.com

New Bern

4th Tuesday

10:00AM

Kim Grissom
252-638-1790
kimberly.grissom@cravencountync.gov

New Bern

1st Monday

4:00PM

Kim Grissom
252-638-1790
kimberly.grissom@cravencountync.gov

Cumberland County

Fayetteville

3rd Tuesday

2:00PM

Sam Hutchison
910-615-1633
shutchison@capefearvalley.com

Fayetteville

3rd Thursday

2:00PM

Carla Smith
910-323-4191×23
csmith@mccog.org

Fayetteville

1st Wednesday

6:30PM

Nathan William
910-764-2020            

Dare County

Kitty Hawk

3rd Thursday

1:00PM

Gail Sonnesso
252-480-3354
gsonnesso@gmail.com

Davie County

Mocksville

2nd Tuesday

5:30PM

Kelly Sloan
336-753-6233
ksloan@daviecountync.gov

Duplin County

Kenansville

1st Tuesday

6:00PM

Melisa Brown
910-296-2140
melisab@duplincountync.com

Durham County

Durham

Last Thursday

6:30PM

Janeli McNeal
919-660-7510
janeli.mcneal@duke.edu

Durham

Last Wednesday

12:00PM

Bobbi Matchar
919-660-7510
barbara.matchar@duke.edu

Durham

4th Tuesday

10:30AM

Lisa Gwyther
919-660-7508
Lisa.Gwyther@duke.edu

Edgecombe County

Tarboro

2nd Tuesday

1:00PM

Kim Emory
252-234-5960
kim.emory@ucpcog.org

Forsyth County

Winston-Salem

2nd Monday

7:00PM

Rona Klein
336-399-6968
points14@live.com

Winston-Salem

2nd Monday

6:00PM

Regina Banner
336-722-7118
rbanner@5ssl.com

Winston-Salem

Every Wednesday

11:00AM

Sharon Welborn
336-724-2155
swelborn@seniorservicesinc.org

Winston-Salem

Every Friday

12:15PM

Sharon Welborn
336-724-2155
swelborn@seniorservicesinc.org

Franklin County

Louisburg

2nd Monday

7:00PM

Wendy Hunter
919-496-1131
whunter@franklincountync.us

Gates County

Gatesville

4th Tuesday

2:00PM

Lynne Raisor
252-426-5753 x226
lraisor@accog.org

Granville County

Oxford

1st Wednesday

12:00PM

Melissa Starr
919-690-3273
mstarr@granvillemedical.com

Greene County

Snow Hill

4th Friday

12:00PM

Sharon Harrison
252-747-8402
sharon.harrison@greenecountync.gov

Guilford County

High Point

1st Wednesday

1:00PM

Jodi Kolada
336-274-3559
jkolada@well-spring.org

Greensboro

2nd Tuesday

12:30PM

Jodi Kolada
336-274-3559
jkolada@well-spring.org

Greensboro

Last Tuesday

5:45PM

Jodi Kolada
336-274-3559
jkolada@well-spring.org

Greensboro

3rd Thursday

6:00PM

Melissa Hairston
336-549-8390
mhairston@5ssl.com

Halifax County

Enfield

2nd Wednesday

12:30PM

Kim Emory
252-234-5960
kim.emory@ucpcog.org

Roanoke Rapids

3rd Wednesday

12:30PM

Kim Emory
252-234-5960
kim.emory@ucpcog.org

Scotland Neck

4th Tuesday

12:30PM

Kim Emory
252-234-5960
kim.emory@ucpcog.org

Harnett County

Lillington

3rd Thursday

11:00AM

Latorius Adams
910-814-6075
lsadams@harnett.org

Haywood County

Waynesville

4th Tuesday

5:30PM

Marian Badgley
828-926-0018
mwbadgley@bellsouth.net

Henderson County

Fletcher

1st Tuesday

1:00PM

Pat Hilgendorf
828-301-0740
patricia.hilgendorf@gmail.com

Hendersonville

Every Thursday

1:30PM

Bill Smutny
828-974-1981

Hendersonville

3rd Tuesday

1:30PM

Lisa Kauffman
828-696-9799
lisak561@bellsouth.net

Hertford County

Ahoskie

4th Tuesday

11:00AM

Tamyra Jovel
252-974-1837
tjovel@mideastcom.org

Johnston County

Benson

1st Thursday

5:30PM

Haley Williford
919-934-6066
haley@cssjohnston.org

Clayton

4th Thursday

6:00PM

Pam Maynor
919-934-6066
pam@cssjohnston.org

Clayton

3rd Thursday

6:00PM

Lisa Lawson
919-553-6144
msladylawson@gmail.com

Smithfield

3rd Thursday

1:30PM

Pam Maynor
919-934-6066
pam@cssjohnston.org

Lee County

Sanford

1st/3rd Thursday

1:00PM

Holly Hight
919-776-0501 x2230
hhight@leecountync.gov

Lenoir County

Kinston

1st Tuesday

6:00PM

Sue Shivar
252-526-7242
shivar2008@embarqmail.com

Kinston

2nd Thursday

10:00AM

Stephanie Pollard
252-523-3099
knccc@hhhunt.com

Martin County

Williamston

2nd Monday

10:00AM

Tamyra Jovel
252-974-1837
tjovel@mideastcom.org

Mecklenburg County

Charlotte

2nd Sunday

3:00PM

Charles Elligson
704-442-5594
charles41elligson@gmail.com

Moore County

Pinehurst

1st Tuesday

2:00PM

Jennifer Tyner
910-695-0011
jennifert@aoscaremanagement.com

Pinehurst

3rd Tuesday

1:00PM

Rebecca Ainslie
910-715-4224

Southern Pines

2nd Wednesday

12:00PM

Jennifer Tyner
910-695-0011
jennifert@aoscaremanagement.com

Seven Lakes

1st & 2nd Wednesday

2:00PM

Amy Natt
910-690-9478
amyn@agingoutreachservices.com

Nash County

Nashville

3rd Tuesday

3:00PM

Ashley Winstead
252-459-1365
ashley.winstead@nashcountync.gov

New Hanover County

Wilmington

3rd Monday

1:30PM

Bartle Canny
910-798-6402
bcanny@nhcgov.com

Wilmington

1st Tuesday

12:00PM

Holly Pilson
910-395-4553×204
hpilson@capefearcog.org

Wilmington

3rd Wednesday

10:00AM

Andrew Zeldin
910-798-6445
azeldin@nhcgov.com

Wilmington

3rd Wednesday

1:00PM

Ann LaReau
910-859-4607
lareaualztraining@gmail.com

Wilmington

3rd Wednesday

6:00PM

Ann LaReau
910-859-4607
lareaualztraining@gmail.com

Wilmington

2nd Monday

11:45AM

Marianna Stacy
910-350-1980
mstacy@libertyseniorliving.com

Wilmington

3rd Monday

5:30PM

Carol Wise
336-558-6539
carolwise01@gmail.com

Wilmington

2nd Tuesday

1:00PM

Becky Hayes
910-798-6435
rhayes@nhcgov.com

Northampton County

Jackson

3rd Thursday

11:00AM

Rebecca Stapleton
252-534-1012
faisonsrcenter@yahoo.com

Onslow County

Jacksonville

2nd Tuesday

2:00PM

Ashley Hines
910-989-3007
ashley_hines@onslowcountync.gov

Orange County

Chapel Hill

2nd/4th Friday

10:30AM

Kim Lamon-Laperfido
919-245-4253
kloperfido@orangecountync.gov

Chapel Hill

3rd Wednesday

12:00PM

Paul Klever
919-967-7570
paul@charleshouse.org

Chapel Hill

4th Wednesday

6:00PM

Caryn Utberg
919-794-1888
caryn@seniorcm.com

Chapel Hill

2nd Tuesday

10:00AM

Helen Antipov
919-933-1430
hantipov@brookdale.com

Hillsborough

1st Tuesday

4:00PM

Kim Lamon-Laperfido
919-245-4253
kloperfido@orangecountync.gov

Hillsborough

3rd Thursday

6:00PM

Cassandra Sinnott
919-923-6461
c.sinnott2011@gmail.com

Pamlico County

Bayboro

1st & 3rd Monday

2:00PM

Beth Hardison
252-745-7196
beth.hardison@pamlicocounty.org

Pender County

Burgaw

4th Thursday

11:30AM

Holly Pilson
910-395-4553
hpilson@capefearcog.org

Person County

Roxboro

4th Tuesday

6:00PM

Lynn Jones
336-599-7484
lynn.jones@personseniors.org

Roxboro

2nd Tuesday

6:30PM

Sandra Carden
336-598-4697
s.hicks@cambridgehills.com

Perquimans County

Hertford

2nd Monday

1:00PM

Lynne Raisor
252-426-5753 x226
lraisor@accog.org

Pitt County

Farmville

3rd Sunday

4:00PM

Edwina Bailey
252-531-9460
edwina@mvjcpa.net

Greenville

3rd Wednesday

6:00PM

Laura Mullen
252-353-2400
lmullen1@brookdale.com

Greenville

4th Tuesday

6:30PM

Amanda Biggs
252-414-3230
abiggs@mideastcom.org

Greenville

3rd Wednesday

12:00PM

Arlene Williams
252-830-8944
gvccc@hhhunt.com

Greenville

3rd Tuesday

10:00AM

Malcolm Smith
252-355-5677
malcolm@silvercareweb.com

Robeson County

St. Paul

3rd Saturday

11:30AM

Latishia Stanley
336-684-0144
latishiasowk@gmail.com

Rowan County

Salisbury

4th Thursday

5:30PM

Lauren Vordenberg
704-603-2779
lvordenberg@trinityathome.net

Sampson County

Clinton

2nd Tuesday

2:00PM

Lisa Henderson
910-592-4653
lhenderson@sampsonnc.com

Scotland County

Laurinburg

3rd Tuesday

7:00PM

Margaret Herring
910-276-1707
mgtherring@yahoo.com

Vance County

Henderson

4th Monday

11:30AM

Joyce Davis
252-430-0257
joyce.davis@vance.nc.gov

Wake County

Apex

3rd Tuesday

2:15PM

Nicole Dickens
919-629-8145
ndickens@cvsliving.com

Apex

4th Thursday

7:00PM

Peggy Kline
919-319-1294
uofkgrad@gmail.com

Apex

2nd Thursday

6:00PM

Tonya Headen-Lee
919-303-9990
axed@hhhunt.com

Cary

3rd Monday

10:00AM

Mary Arthur
919-447-4494
marthur@glenaire.org

Cary

3rd Thursday

10:00AM

Laurie Ray
919-624-1944
laurie@lifelinks.care

Cary

3rd Monday

7:00PM

Lou Paules
919-630-9232
rpaules@earthlink.net

Cary

2nd & 4th Monday

11:30AM

Theresa Trimble
919-462-3983
carysc@rfsnc.org

Cary

2nd Sunday

3:30PM

Nancy Boyd
919-233-9100
nancyboyd66@gmail.com

Cary

3rd Thursday

7:00PM

Casey Hix
919-460-5959

Fuquay Varina

1st Tuesday

6:30PM

Kathy Seawell
919-210-7525
sakatielong@hotmail.com

Fuquay Varina

3rd Tuesday

2:00PM

Trudy Croxton
919-650-6664
tcroxton@reliaslearning.com

Garner

3rd Thursday

6:30PM

Donna Gould
919-772-0018
1spectrum@nc.rr.com

Wake Forest

2nd Tuesday

2:00PM

Mark Foreman
919-569-2101
mark.foreman@carillonassistedliving.com

Wake Forest

2nd Tuesday

6:00PM

Alice Reid
919-569-2101
wakeforestactivities@carillonassistedliving.com

Wendell

2nd Wednesday

9:30AM

Judith Shotts
919-366-0849
jshotts65@att.net

Raleigh

Anson Way

1st Tuesday

6:00PM

Melanie Bunn
919-832-3732
melanie.bunn@yahoo.com

Cardinal at North Hills

2nd Monday

10:00AM

Dee Dee Harris
919-832-3732
dharris@dementianc.org

Lake Boone Trail

2nd Thursday

10:00AM

Loree Idol
919-616-2776
idol.loree@gmail.com

Lake Boone Trail

3rd Tuesday

7:00PM

Paul Lester
919-538-4827
pblester58@gmail.com

Cypress Lake Drive

3rd Wednesday

4:00PM

Efren Whitehead
919-518-8902
ewhitehead@thecypressofraleigh.com

Edenton Street

2nd Wednesday

1:00PM

Meg Hunn
919-834-6259
mhunn@christchurchraleigh.org

Newton Road

2nd Tuesday

7:00PM

Rachel Strauss
919-848-0303
rbs@nc.rr.com

Sawmill Road

2nd Monday

7:30PM

Phyllis Mayo
919-848-7083
phyllis.mayo@springmoor.org

Spring Forest Road

1st Thursday

6:00PM

Kimberly Smith
919-981-6100
kimberly.smith@sunriseseniorliving.com

Leesville Road

1st Wednesday

1:00PM

Linda Tucker
919-900-8280
lttucker40@gmail.com

Leesville Road

3rd Wednesday

7:00PM

Lynne Carpenter
919-215-2331
lynne@phicare.com

New Hope Road

3rd Tuesday

12:30PM

Sandra Taranto
919-250-0255
erbom@hhhunt.com

Van Thomas Drive

3rd Tuesday

12:00PM

Latoya Galberth
336-681-1306
latoyaunc@gmail.com

W. Edenton Street

2nd & 4th Wednesday

3:30PM

Ma Frazier
919-832-7227
mfrazier@esumc.org

Warren County

Warrenton

2nd Tuesday

3:15PM

LaVerne Gardner
252-257-3111
lavernegardner@warrencountync.gov

Washington County

Plymouth

1st Thursday

5:30PM

Vanessa Joyner
252-793-3816
vjoyner@washconc.org

Wayne County

Goldsboro

2nd Thursday

5:30PM

Rob Phillips
919-731-1589
robert.phillips@waynegov.com

Wayne County

Wilson

4th Tuesday

4:30PM

Leyta Bullock
252-237-9050
lechols@5ssl.com

Wilson

2nd Thursday

11:00AM

Kim Emory
252-234-5960
kim.emory@ucpcog.org

Wilson

3rd Tuesday

11:00AM

Janelle Clevinger
252-243-2773
mhawilsonnc@gmail.com

HOW CAN WE HELP YOU?

FIND SUPPORT

LEARN MORE

GET INVOLVED