Support Groups

A caregiver support group can act as a positive outlet providing caregivers a regular time for social interaction outside of the home. The groups offer a safe place where any negative emotions about caregiving can be expressed and validated (like anger, frustration and grief), helping participants feel like they are NOT alone. Support groups also help caregivers maintain balance by doing something for themselves instead of always caring for their loved one.

Caregivers can gather ideas on how others deal with common challenges of caring for a loved one during each of the stages of dementia, and have the opportunity to help others who are new to caregiving by offering tips on what has and hasn’t worked well for them. In addition, many groups offer an educational component with expert advice on caregiving topics.

  • Do you need caregiving resources for your area?
  • Are you feeling stressed and overwhelmed?
  • Are you depressed? Tired? Rundown?
  • Would you like to have additional caregiving coping strategies?
  • Would you like to have the support of other caregivers who “understand” caregiving?
  • Do you want a support system?
  • Have you ever wanted someone to be there for you?
  • Would you like to acquire more education from other caregivers?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, we’d like to encourage you to attend one of the support groups in your community.

  • Consider how often the group meets. Bi-monthly or monthly?
  • What time of day is convenient for you? Daytime or evening?
  • Is the location of the group easily accessible for you?
  • What kind of group is it? Caregivers, individuals with dementia, male only, etc.?
  • Is the group for support or education, or a combination of both?
  • What is the size of the group?

We are committed to offering local support groups throughout the state of North Carolina so location is never a factor hindering a caregiver from attending a group session. If you are searching for a local support group, simply click on your county below to access our current list. Contact information and schedules for groups in your area will pop up. And please contact us directly at (919) 832-3732 for more information or to speak to one of our CARE Navigators about additional resources for caregivers in North Carolina.

Due to the pandemic, many of our support groups have transitioned to online Zoom meetings or conference calls. Please contact a facilitator in your county if you are interested in joining their online support group. Look for (virtual via Zoom) listings below

Not Familiar with Zoom Meetings? Check on these flyers on:

Senior Planet and AARP host free webinars on how to use Zoom. Check out their Facebook page for a schedule

Support group facilitator trainings are held several times a year. Check our our events calendar for more information

OUR SUPPORT GROUPS:

Click on your county below to access our current list.

FTD Caregivers

Burlington 3rd Tues 6:00 PM 919-632-8083 Kathy LaFone timlafone@yahoo.com
Washington

(Via Conference Call)

4th Mon 5:30 PM 252-974-1837 Tamyra Jovel tjovel@mideastcom.org
Windsor
(Via Conference Call)
4th Tues 5:30PM 252-974-1837 Tamyra Jovel tjovel@mideastcom.org
Brunswick Leland 3rd Tues 5:00 PM 910 859-4607 Ann LaReau lareaualztraining@gmail.com
Leland 1st & 3rd Tues 10:00 AM 516-510-8925 Eileen Scanlon eileenscanlon@gmail.com
Leland 2nd & 4th Thurs 10:00 AM 516-510-8925 Eileen Scanlon eileenscanlon@gmail.com
Via Zoom Shallotte 2nd Tues 10:00 AM 910-754-2300 Laura Collins lcollins@bsrinc.org
Via Zoom Sunset Beach 2nd Tues 1:00 PM 910-579-1005 Judy Rochlage jarochlage@gmail.com
Southport 3rd Wed 1:00 PM 513-317-5231 Barbara Grever begrever@gmail.com
Via Zoom Asheville 3rd Tues 1:00 PM 828-230-4143 Mary Donnelly network@memorycare.org
Via Zoom Black Mountain 2nd Tues 9:30 AM 828-230-4143 Mary Donnelly network@memorycare.org
Via Zoom / In person Asheville 3rd Tues 5:00 PM 828-277-8288 Jennie Pressley jenniep@coabc.org 
Early Stage for Individuals Black Mountain 2nd Tues 9:30 AM 828-301-0529 Mel Kelley avant_garden@msn.com
Via Zoom Woodfin 4th Tues 1:00 PM 828-301-0740 Pat Hilgendorf patricia.hilgendorf@gmail.com
Concord
(Virtual Via Zoom)
1st Wed 12:15 PM 704-886-0840 Amanda Buck Amanda.Buck@cannonpharmacies.com
Lenoir
(Virtual Via Zoom)
1st Wednesday 1:00 PM 828-758-2883 April Austin april@caldwellseniorcenter.org
Morehead City Every Thurs 1:00 PM 252-638-3185, x3011 January Brown jbrown@eccog.org
Cape Carteret 1st & 3rd Tues 1:30 PM 252-393-3243 Joyce Manley jandwnc2@gmail.com
Chatham In person Pittsboro 3rd Mon 6:00 PM 919-542-4512 Susan Hardy susan.hardy@chathamcoa.org
Via Google Pittsboro 4th Mon 6:00 PM 919-542-4512 Susan Hardy susan.hardy@chathamcoa.org
New Bern 1st Wed 1:00 PM 252-636-0831 Nancy Willett mommywillet@gmail.com
New Bern 2nd Mon 3:30 PM 252-638-1790 Please call Craven County Senior Services if interested at 252-638-1790
Fayetteville 3rd Tues 2:00 PM 910-615-1633 Sam Hutchison shutchison@capefearvalley.com
Fayetteville 3rd Thurs 12:30 PM 910-323-4191×23 Carla Smith csmith@mccog.org
Fayetteville
(Virtual Via Zoom)
2nd Tues 5:00 PM 910-484-0111×242 Lisa Hughes lhughes@ccccooa.org
Fayetteville
(Virtual Via Zoom)
3rd Wed 11:30 AM 910-484-0111×242 Lisa Hughes lhughes@ccccooa.org
Kitty Hawk 3rd Thurs 1:00 PM 252-480-3354 Gail Sonnesso gsonnesso@gmail.com
Kill Devil Hills 2nd Tues 2:30 PM 908-642-7828 Anne Kelleher akelleh6@hotmail.com
Mocksville
(Virtual Via Zoom)
Every Tues 10:00AM 336-753-6233 Kelly Sloan ksloan@daviecountync.gov
Lexington
(Virtual Via Zoom)
3rd Wed 2:00 PM 336-249-2155 Catherine Pyle cpyle@lifecenterdavidson.com
Thomasville 1st Thur 1:00 PM 336-474-3624 Bob Symanski rsymanski@vchas.org
Kenansville 1st Tues 6:00 PM 910-296-2140 Melisa Brown melisab@duplincountync.com
Via Zoom Durham 2nd & 4th Thurs 6:30 PM 919-660-7542 Natalie Leary natalie.leary@duke.edu
Caregiver of somone in LTC Zoom Durham 3rd Tues 12:00 PM 919-660-7543 Natalie Leary natalie.leary@duke.edu
Caregivers in African American Zoom Durham 3rd Tues 7:00 PM 919-660-7508 Tiffany Summers tiffancy.summers@duke.edu
Young onset Via Zoom Durham 2nd & 4th Tues 7:00 PM 919-660-7565 Janeli McNeal Janeli.mcneal@duke.edu
Person Living w/Dementia Zoom Durham 3rd Mon 11:00 AM 919-660-7565 Janeli McNeal Janeli.mcneal@duke.edu
 Daughters Via Zoom Durham 1st & 3rd Wed 12:00PM 919-660-7509 Bobbi Matchar barbara.matchar@duke.edu
Care Partner Via Zoom Durham 2nd Tues 10:30 AM 919-660-7509 Bobbi Matchar barbara.matchar@duke.edu
Tarboro 2nd Tues 1:00 PM 252-234-5984 Ashleigh Glover aglover@ucpcog.org
FTD Caregivers
Winston-Salem
2nd Mon 7:00PM 336-399-6968 Rona Klein points14@live.com
Winston-Salem Every Wed 11:00 AM 336-724-2155 Sharon Welborn swelborn@seniorservicesinc.org
Winston-Salem Every Fri 12:15 PM 336-724-2155 Sharon Welborn swelborn@seniorservicesinc.org
Louisburg
(Virtual Via Zoom)
2nd Mon 7:00 PM 919-496-1131 Wendy Hunter whunter@franklincountync.us
Oxford 1st Tues 2:30 PM 919-690-3237 Gail Barnes-Hall ghall@granvillemedical.com
Snow Hill
(Virtual Via Zoom)
4th Wed 2:00 PM 252-747-5436 Sharon Harrison sharon.harrison@greenecountync.gov
Via Zoom Greensboro 2nd Tues 1:00 PM 336-545-4245 Jodi Kolada jkolada@well-spring.org
Via Zoom Greensboro Last Tues 6:00 PM 336-545-4245 Jodi Kolada jkolada@well-spring.org
Male only caregiver Via Zoom Greensboro 1st Wed 11:00 AM 336-373-4248 Alexis Williams williamsa@caregiverconnect.online
Via Zoom Greensboro 2nd Thurs 7:00 PM 336-373-4248 Alexis Williams williamsa@caregiverconnect.online
Via Zoom Greensboro 4th Tues 10:00 AM 336-373-4248 Alexis Williams williamsa@caregiverconnect.online
Enfield 2nd Wed 12:30 PM 252-234-5984 Ashleigh Glover aglover@ucpcog.org
Roanoke Rapids 3rd Wed 12:30 PM 252-234-5984 Ashleigh Glover aglover@ucpcog.org
Scotland Neck 4th Tues 12:30 PM 252-234-5984 Ashleigh Glover aglover@ucpcog.org
Lillington 3rd Thurs 11:00AM 910-814-6075 Latorius Adams lsadams@harnett.org
Waynesville 4th Tues 5:30 PM 828-926-0018 Marian Badgley mwbadgley@bellsouth.net
Fletcher
(Virtual Via Zoom)
1st Tues 1:00 PM 828-301-0740 Pat Hilgendorf patricia.hilgendorf@gmail.com
Hendersonville 3rd Tues 1:30 PM 828-696-9799 Lisa Kauffman lisakauffman561@gmail.com
Ahoskie
(Virtual Via Zoom)
4th Tues 11:00AM 252-974-1837 Tamyra Jovel tjovel@mideastcom.org
FTD Caregivers
Mooresville
(Virtual Via Zoom)
3rd Monday 10:30 AM 704-442-5594 Charles Elligson charles41elligson@gmail.com
Clayton 4th Thurs 6:00 PM 919-934-6066 Irvin Belt irvin@cssjohnston.org
Via Zoom Smithfield 4th Thurs 1:30 PM 919-934-6066 Irvin Belt irvin@cssjohnston.org
Sanford
(Virtual Via Zoom)
1st/3rd Thurs 1:00PM 919-776-0501 x2230 Holly Hight hhight@leecountync.gov
Kinston 2nd Thurs 5:00 PM 252-361-1750 Amanda Haddock knmtg@hhhunt.com
Williamston
(Via Conference Call)
2nd Mon 11:00 AM 252-974-1837 Tamyra Jovel tjovel@mideastcom.org
FTD Caregivers
Charlotte
(Virtual Via Zoom)
2nd Sunday 3:00PM 704-442-5594 Charles Elligson charles41elligson@gmail.com
Pinehurst
(Virtual Via Zoom)
1st Tues 11:00 AM 910-695-0011 Robin Hutchings  

Contact Robin Hutchings for Zoom Link

angelab@aoscaremanagement.com

Nashville 3rd Tues 3:00 PM 252-459-1691 Wendy Perry wendy.perry@nashcountync.gov
Bailey 2nd Tues 3:00 PM 252-459-1691 Wendy Perry wendy.perry@nashcountync.gov
Wilmington
(Virtual Via Zoom)
1st Tues 12:00 PM 910-395-4553×204 Holly Pilson hpilson@capefearcog.org
Early Stage Individual/Caregiver
Wilmington
3rd Wed 10:00AM 910-798-6445 Andrew Zeldin azeldin@nhcgov.com
Wilmington
(Virtual Via Zoom)
2nd Mon 11:45 AM 910-392-6899 Holly Hines hhines@libertyseniorliving.com
Wilmington 2nd Thurs 10:30 AM 910-796-7955 Candy Lee candy.lee@lcfh.org
Wilmington
(Virtual Via Zoom)
4th Mon 5:30 PM 336-558-6539 Carol Wise carolwise01@gmail.com
Wilmington
(Virtual Via Zoom)
4th Thurs 1:00 PM 336-558-6539 Carol Wise carolwise01@gmail.com
Creative Outlet for Caregivers
Wilmington
2nd Tues 1:00 PM 910-798-6435 Becky Hayes rhayes@nhcgov.com
Jackson 3rd Thurs 11:00 AM 252-534-1012 Rebecca Stapleton faisonsrcenter@yahoo.com
Provides Adult Daycare Services
Jacksonville
2nd Tues 2:00 PM 910-989-3007 Charmony Clark charmony_clark@onslowcountync.gov
Chapel Hill
(In Person & Zoom)
2nd/4th Fri 10:30AM 919-245-4253 Kim Lamon-Laperfido kloperfido@orangecountync.gov
Chapel Hill
(Virtual Via Zoom)
3rd Wed 12:00 PM 919-967-7570 Paul Klever paul@charleshouse.org
Hillsborough
(Virtual Via Zoom)
2nd & 4th Thurs 1:00 PM 919-245-4278 Kendall Kopchick kkopchick@orangecountync.gov
Bayboro 1st &  3rd Mon 2:00 PM 252-745-7196 Violet Ollison violet.ollison@pamlicocounty.org
Roxboro 4th Thurs 6:00 PM 336-599-7484 Maynell Harper maynell.harper@personseniors.org
Hertford
(In person, socially distanced)
2nd Mon 1:00 PM 252-404-7090 Lynne Raisor lraisor@accog.org
Farmville 2nd Monday 10:00 AM 252-531-9460 Edwina Bailey baileybunch2@icloud.com
Greenville 4th Tues 6:00 PM 252-414-3230 Amanda Biggs abiggs@accog.org
Greenville 2nd Tues 6:00 PM 252-830-8944 Ashley Garner gvad@hhhunt.com
Greenville 3rd Tues 10:00 AM 252-355-5677 Malcolm Smith malcolm@silvercareweb.com
Pembroke 1st Tues 5:00 PM 910-775-9779 Stephanie Powers Stephanie.Powers@lrcog.org
Reidsville
(In Person & Zoom)
2nd Mon 1:30 PM 336-347-2366 Rachel Pennington rpennington@adtsrc.org
Salisbury 4th Thurs 5:30 PM 704-603-2778 Teresa Dakins TDakins@trinityathome.net
Albemarle 1st Fri 10:00AM 704-986-3769 Aleshia Holland aholland@stanlycountync.gov
Wake Via Zoom Apex 4th Thurs 7:00 PM 919-319-1294 Peggy Kline uofkgrad@gmail.com
Online Apex 2nd Thurs 10:30 AM 919-303-9990 Tonya Headen-Lee axed@hhhunt.com
Via Zoom Cary 3rd Mon 7:00 PM 919-630-9232 Lou Paules lmpaules@gmail.com  
Cary 3rd Thurs 10:00 AM 919-961-6589 Kathy Montero kathymontero3@gmail.com
Via Zoom Cary 3rd Tues 10:30 AM 919-447-4494 Mary Arthur marthur@glenaire.org
Via Zoom Cary 2nd Mon 12:00PM 919-410-3149 Nancy Stolfo-Corti nacchianti@gmail.com
Via Zoom Cary 3rd Thurs 7:00 PM 919-460-5959 Lynn Bailey vwhitley@brookdale.com
Fuquay Varina 1st Tues 6:30 PM 919-210-7525 Kathy Seawell sakatielong@hotmail.com
Knightdale 1st Wed 7:00 PM 919-815-8128 Jennifer Dewberry Taylor tayloredhealthcarepllc@gmail.com
Millbrook Rd. 2nd Mon 10:00 AM 919-832-3732 Dee Dee Harris dharris@DementiaNC.org
Via Zoom Creedmoor Road 3rd Thurs 6:00 PM 919-847-3202 Tracy Taylor tracy.taylor@kiscosl.com
Lewy Body Dementia – Zoom Lake Boone Tr. 2nd Thurs 10:00 AM 919-616-2776 Loree Idol idol.loree@gmail.com
FTD Caregivers – Zoom Lake Boone Tr. 3rd Tues 7:00 PM 919-538-4827 Paul Lester pblester58@gmail.com
919-946-0876 Chad Thomsen chad.thomsen@gmail.com
Via Zoom Newton Rd. 3rd Mon 6:00 PM 919-848-0303 Rachel Strauss rbs.vol@gmail.com
Via Zoom Leesville Road 1st Wed 1:00 PM 937-478-9537 Linda Tucker lttucker40@gmail.com
Via Zoom Leesville Road 3rd Wed 7:00 PM 919-215-2331 Lynne Carpenter lynne@phicare.com
New Hope Rd 3rd Tues 12:30 PM 919-250-0255 Sandra Taranto ered@hhhunt.com
Kidd Road 3rd Thurs 6:00 PM 919-208-1667 Lisa Lawson msladylawson@gmail.com
Via Zoom W. Edenton St. 2nd & 4th Wed 3:30PM 919-832-7227 Matt Frazier mfrazier@esumc.org
Via Zoom Wake Forest 3rd Wed 10:00 AM 828-429-7905 Pat Synder patsnyder137@gmail.com
Caregiver class/support -Zoom Wendell 3rd Tues 1:30 PM 984-232-4215 Nancy Broadwell raleighsc@rfsnc.org
Plymouth 1st Thurs 5:30 PM 252-793-3816 Vanessa Joyner vjoyner@washconc.org
Wilson 2nd Thurs 11:00 AM 252-234-5984 Ashleigh Glover aglover@ucpcog.org
Wilson 4th Thurs 6:00 PM 252-237-9050 Ginger Jones gevans@5ssl.com
Wilson 3rd Tues 11:00 AM 252-243-2773 Janelle Clevinger mhawilsonnc@gmail.com